Premier Division
Grange Albion 00000
Rumney RFC 0000
St Albans RFC 00000
Grange Quins00000
Grange Catholics 000
Llanrumney RFC000
St Michaels 00000
St Peters RFC 00000
Next Fixtures

Please click on the links to view the fixtures when the 2016 fixtures have been published. 


Mens Fixtures :


Ladies Fixtures:


Baseball Mercury 34

Edition 34 contains an article in Typescript which in parts is difficult to read. Read it here or click the Header above to read the whole Issue.


My item in issue No. 33 “A Visit to Cardiff” brought me a letter from Peter Smart, Secretary of the Welsh Schools Baseball Association.

Mr. Smart took exception to my describing St. Patrick’s as having  been a “joke” team prior to having the services of Bill Olsen as coach. Mr. Smart pointed out that St. Patrick’s, as all teams do, had had their good spells and their bad spells; but that St. Patrick’s had always been respected members of the South Glamorgan Schoolboys’ Baseball League.

As a result of Peter Smart’s letter, I now realise that my choice of words to describe the contrast between St. Patrick’s immediately before Bill Olsen’s arrival, and the team after his arrival, was unfortunate.

Welsh Trophies.

I have received seven foolscap sheets of information regarding the three major trophies competed for in Wales; the information has been sent to me by Ivor Beynon, President of the Welsh Baseball Union.

The information concerns the Dewar Shield, the League Championship Trophy, from 1906 to date. The W.B.U. Cup; and the League K.O. Cup. The two cups have ·quite a history attached to each. I have summarised the information; I have set aside the information for 1953 as there appears some confusion between the Dewar Shield and W.B.U. Cup winners. I have also ignored the Dewar Shield for 1961 as it resulted in a three way tie.

Dewar Shield – 65 outright champions. Top five clubs – Grange Albion 25; Llanrumney Youth Club 10; Penylan 9; Newport 7; Splott U.S. 6; Longest consecutive sequence – Llanrumney Y.C. 10, 1974-83.

W.B.U. Cup – 62 winners. Top five clubs- Grange Albion 17; Penylan 13; Llanrumney Y.C. 7; Pill Harriers 5; then come three clubs each of whom gained the cup on three occasions – Grangetown, Grange I.M.C.A. and Alexandra Old Boys.

Longest consecutive sequence – Grange Albion 6, 1946 – 51.

League Knock-out Cup. At present this is the Welsh Brewers Cup. 46 competitions.

Top five clubs – Grange Albion 13; Penylan 8; Llanrumney I.C. 7; Pill Harriers 5; Alexandra O.B. 5.

Longest consecutive sequence – Llanrumney I.C. 7, 1975 – 81.

These three major trophies amount to 173 competitions. The top five clubs overall are Grange Albion 55 wins; Penylan 30; Llanrumney I.C. 24; Pill Harriers 12; there are three clubs with nine wins each – Newport, Splott U.S. and Alexandra Old Boys.

The most impressive sequence of successes must surely be Llanrumney Y.C. in the period 19~·83 – that is ten years, this club has gained 24 major trophies out of a possible 30.

Touch Base